Books by Chris Paton

Tracing Your Family History on the Internet


Discover Scottish ChurchRecords


Researching Scottish Family History


 


Essential Links




British GENES (British GEnealogy News and EventS)

For all the latest developments affecting your Scottish and British Isles based family history research



Archives/Libraries

National Archives (Kewwww.nationalarchives.gov.uk

National Records of Scotland www.nrscotland.gov.uk

ScotlandsPeople Centre www.scotlandspeoplehub.gov.uk

National Library of Scotland www.nls.uk

Scottish Archives Network (SCAN) www.scan.org.uk


Family history societies

Scottish Association of Family History Societies (Scotlandwww.safhs.org.uk

Comainn eachdraidh (Scotlandwww.smo.uhi.ac.uk/gaidhlig/buidhnean/eachdraidh/

Scottish Genealogy Society  www.scotsgenealogy.com

Society of Genealogists  www.sog.org.uk


Online genealogy records suppliers

ScotlandsPeople www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk

ScotsFind - cached version at http://tinyurl.com/738cl8t

Ancestry www.ancestry.co.uk

The Genealogist www.thegenealogist.co.uk

MyHeritage www.myheritage.com

Family Relatives www.familyrelatives.com

Deceased Online www.deceasedonline.com

FamilySearch www.familysearch.org


UK and Ireland genealogy media

Your Family Tree www.yourfamilytreemag.co.uk

Family Tree http://family-tree.co.uk

Your Family History www.your-familyhistory.com

Who Do You Think You Are www.whodoyouthinkyouaremagazine.com

National Archives podcasts www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/podcasts

The Family History Show www.familyhistoryshow.net


Gateway sites

GENUKI: UK and Ireland Genealogy www.genuki.org.uk

British Isles Genweb www.britishislesgenweb.org

UKGDL www.ukgdl.org.uk

UKMFH www.ukmfh.org.uk

Cyndi's List www.cyndislist.com

The Internet Guide to Scotland www.scotland-info.co.uk/gene-faq.htm

Scotland's Family http://scotlandsfamily.com


Scottish genealogy courses

Pharos Teaching and Tutoring Ltd www.pharostutors.com

University of Strathclyde postgraduate programme www.strath.ac.uk/genealogy

University of Dundee postgraduate programme www.dundee.ac.uk/cais/certificate